How to fail at a seemingly easy task

So, I haven’t posted in about a week, mainly due to my uncreative brain, and not being able to think of a dang thing to write about. I kept on saying “I have nothing to write about” “Nothing interests me right now”, “Nothing is going on in my life, that is even remotely hilarious”. All of a sudden it dawned on me. Why not write about nothing?

Now, you may be thinking How in the world can she write about nothing? Nothing is just nothing. It’s negative space, it doesn’t exist. Nothing isn’t something you can pick up, or hold, or see. So how can I write about it. Well, this is where my ADD brain kicks in. All of a sudden i just start thinking about how you can’t think about nothing. Think about it.  If you are thinking about nothing, then you are thinking.  One cannot stop thinking. Even when you are asleep, your mind is at work, thinking for itself.

It’s an interesting concept really. One cannot stop thinking. It’s kind of weird to picture your brain as never taking a break, never  hitting the snooze button and sleeping in five minutes late. But, it’s true. And that is where thinking comes in handy. How else would you think to think about your brain hitting the snooze button (seriously, how do i think of this stuff).

As a social experiment, I tried to just close my eyes and clear my mind for a minute (that being the seemingly easy task). I sat there for maybe ten/fifteen minutes trying to clear my mind and being totally unsuccessful. Did you ever notice that when you’re doing yoga or de-stresssing how people say “clear your mind”? This has ALWAYS pissed me off, because you can’t clear your mind! It’s impossible!

Anyway, now that I’ve gotten that off of my chest, hopefully my mind will be relatively clear, and allow me to sleep. Good night!

Clear Mind

A perfect illustration of what my brain thinks about as an alternative to nothing.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in General Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I rather not clear my mind, but instead think of things that make me happy.

  2. I can’t clear my mind either, my friend. It goes ALL over the place.

Have a comment? Post it here!

